VILLAGE OF MACKINAW ZONING BOARD OF APPEALS

Wednesday – December 4, 2019

MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE ZONING BOARD OF APPEALS HELD AT THE MACKINAW MUNICIPAL BUILDING AT 7:00 P.M.

The meeting of the Zoning Board of Appeals was called to order at 7:00p.m. This was a regularly scheduled meeting.

I. <u>CALL TO ORDER:</u> @ 7:00 p.m.

II. <u>PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE</u>

III. <u>ROLL CALL</u>:

Present: 4 – Board Chairman: Ted Laidig Board Members: Chuck Lowery, Tad Myers and Todd Smith
Also Present: Recording Secretary Amanda Schmidgall and Zoning Officer Joe McGrath
Absent: 3 – Board Member: Kraig Kamp, Craig Kilby and Steve Powell Sr.

IV. <u>CONSENT AGENDA ITEMS</u>:

A. Approval of November 6, 2019 regular meeting minutes Myers moved, seconded by Smith to approve the minutes of the regularly scheduled meeting of November 6, 2019 as submitted. On a roll call, the vote was:

Ayes: 4 – Board Chairman: Ted Laidig Board Members: Chuck Lowery, Tad Myers and Todd Smith Nays: 0 Absent: 3 – Board Member: Kraig Kamp, Craig Kilby and Steve Powell Sr.

There being four affirmative votes, the motion carried

V. <u>PUBLIC COMMENT</u>: None

VI. <u>ADMINISTRATION</u>:

A. <u>Approve 2020 Meeting Schedule</u>: Smith moved, second by Lowery to approve the 2020 meeting schedule. On a roll call, the vote was:

Ayes: 4 – Board Chairman: Ted Laidig Board Members: Chuck Lowery, Tad Myers and Todd Smith Nays: 0

Absent: 3 – Board Member: Kraig Kamp, Craig Kilby and Steve Powell Sr.

There being four affirmative votes, the motion carried

B. <u>Cancel January 1, 2020 Meeting</u>: Smith moved, seconded by Myers to cancel the January 1, 2020 meeting but to reschedule the meeting for Wednesday, January 8, 2020. On a roll call, the vote was :

Ayes: 4 – Board Chairman: Ted Laidig Board Members: Chuck Lowery, Tad Myers and Todd Smith
Nays: 0
Absent: 3 – Board Member: Kraig Kamp, Craig Kilby and Steve Powell Sr.
There being four affirmative votes, the motion carried

VII. <u>BUILDING PERMIT REPORT</u>: Zoning Officer McGrath reviews the building permit

report with the board. Lowery moved, seconded by Myers to approve the building permit

report as submitted by Zoning Officer McGrath. On a roll call, the vote was:

Ayes: 4 – Board Chairman: Ted Laidig **Board Members:** Chuck Lowery, Tad Myers and Todd Smith

Nays: 0

Absent: 3 – Board Member: Kraig Kamp, Craig Kilby and Steve Powell

Sr.

There being four affirmative votes, the motion carried

VIII. **PAVEMENT PERMIT REPORT:** No new permits to approve

IX. ZONING CODE ADDITIONS/UPDATES:

- A. <u>Permit Close-Out</u> Letter: McGrath will give a letter to Recording Secretary Schmidgall that will be sent out when permit holders contact the Village office that their build has been completed. McGrath feels that this step will help him keep track of each build.
- **B.** <u>Solar Panel Rules to Create Ordinance</u>: McGrath speaks with the board regarding the information that was sent out to the board regarding other municipality's rules regarding solar panels. The entire board is in agreeance that no solar panels grids should be allowed on the ground only as roof mounts. Once rules are in place any property that does not meet the new rules regarding solar panels will be given a time frame to conform to the new rules.

X. <u>NEW BUSINESS</u>: None

XI. <u>ADJOURNMENT</u>: 7:15 PM.

There being no further business to come before the Board, Board Member Myers moved, seconded by Board Member Smith to adjourn. <u>Motion Carried</u>.

Amanda Schmidgall Recording Secretary Posted: 1-8-2020